Aim of the school

This international school offers an intensive two weeks course in topics related to heliophysics. The course is aimed at Ph.D. and post-doctoral research students. As a special case, a few final year M.Sc (Physics) students, with an interest in Solar Physics and who want to pursue it further, may also be considered. The school will cover a broad spectrum of physical processes in the heliospace. The overall theme of the School is to teach the students how the Sun influences the sphere of 100 AU radius through its electromagnetic and mass emissions and the physical processes involved. The purpose is to provide an introduction to heliophysics for students who do not have an opportunity to take such a course at their home institution. There will be approximately 40 lectures, with activities related to the lecture material. There will also be lab exercises and opportunities to observe the Sun with the existing facilities.


Sun in the Universe, Solar interior, Solar atmosphere and the heliosphere, Solar eruptions and heliospheric consequences, Shocks, flows and obstacles, Dynamo processes, Reconnection processes in Sun and heliosphere, Sun-Climate, Turbulence in the heliospace, Planetary atmospheres, ionospheres, and magnetospheres, Radio emission processes, Energetic particles in the heliosphere, Elemental abundances in the heliosphere, Space platforms for heliophysical studies, Space weather, Cosmic rays and climate


C. Sivaram (IIA), A. Ambastha (USO-PRL), N. Srivastava (USO-PRL), D. J. F. Maia (Portugal), A. C. Das (PRL), A. Bhardwaj (VSSC), D. Nandi (USA), R. Ramesh (PRL), V. Krishan (IIA), B. Bavassano (Italy), B. Nanan (UK), H. Chandra (PRL), M. Blanc (France), K. R. Subramanian (IIA), A. Saiz (Thailand), E. Moebius (USA), P. Sreekumar (ISAC), J. Singh (IIA), A. Hanslmeier (Austria), T. Sako (Japan), N. Gopalswamy (USA), D. Banerjee (IIA), Y. Yan (China), P. Subramanian (IIA), K. B. Ramesh (IIA), P. K. Manoharan (RAC-TIFR), John D. Richardson (USA), R. Ramesh (IIA) and J. Murthy (IIA).


Course Directors: Nat Gopalswamy (, Ashok Ambastha (, and R. Ramesh (
Convener of the School: K. E. Rangarajan (
Coordinator of the School: R. Ramesh (