• Document Information provided as per the Section 4 (I) (b) of the Act
  • The Government of Indiahas enacted ‘Right to Information Act 2005” to provide for setting out the practical regime of right to information for citizens to secure access to information under the control of Public Authorities in order to promote transparency and accountability in the working of any public authority.

- Structure
- IIA Governing Council
- Academic staff
- Technical staff
- Students
- Administration
- Honorary Fellows


The Indian
Institute of Astrophysics (IIA) is a premier national research institutedevoted to research in astronomy, astrophysics and related physics. The Institute’s head quarters is located at Koramangala, Bangalore. The Institute operates observatories and laboratories at the following

1. Vainu Bappu Observatory, Kavalur

2. Kodaikanal Solar Observatory, Kodaikanal

3. Indian Astronomical Observatory, Hanle

4. Gauribidanur Radio Observatory, Gauribidanur

5. Center for Research and Education in Science & Technology, Hosakote

Detailed information of the research being pursued at IIA can be obtained from http://www.iiap.res.in


Dr. P. Sreekumar
Solar System Studies

Professor R. Ramesh
Professor G. C. ANUPAMA
Chairperson:GC-II:Stellar & Galactic Astronomy
Professor Aruna Goswami
(CREST, Hosakote & IAO, Ladakh)

Professor G. C. Anupama
Chairperson:GC-III:Theoretical Astrophysics
Professor A. Mangalam
Senior Administrative Officer
Dr. P. Kumaresan
Head:System Engineering Group
Mr. G. Srinivasulu
Librarian Chairperson:Board Of Graduate Studies
Professor R. T. Gangadhara
Appellate Authority
Professor R. Ramesh
Central Public Information Officer
Mr. K. T. Rajan (E-mail: cpio@iiap.res.in)