Scientific Rationale

Magnetic activity of the Sun causes variations in its radiative and particulate emissions. There have been rapid advances recently in our understanding of physical processes behind such causes, from the solar interior to the outer atmosphere, driven by both space and ground based observations and by the development of a range of numerical computational tools and models. New results and directions have come from helioseismology of interior dynamics, space and ground based observations of solar surface and atmospheric dynamics – magnetic structures, plasma flows, waves, and eruptive phenomena, measurements of magnetic fields in the atmosphere, and from magnetohydrodynamic simulations and models of the above phenomena. This meeting aims to bring the Indian and international solar physics community together to take stock of above advances in the field and to prepare for maximising science output from the upcoming facilities and projects that IIA is involved with: the upcoming space mission Aditya-L1 of ISRO for which the primary instrument Visible Emission Line Coronagraph (VELC) is being completed at IIA, the proposed ground-based National Large Solar Telescope (NLST), and also the long term synoptic programmes at the Kodaikanal Solar Observatory .

It is also an opportune time currently to facilitate and foster interactions and collaborations between researchers at IIA and elsewhere, nationally as well as internationally, to build on the long tradition of solar physics research at IIA and to forge ahead. The scientific programme will be structured to address advances and future trends in the following broad areas of solar physics:

  • Lower Solar Atmospheric Magnetic Fields, Flows and Waves
  • Ground-based instrumentation and High-Resolution Observations
  • Coronal Magnetism, Eruptive Phenomena and Space Weather
  • Space Instrumentation and Observations
  • Solar Interior Dynamics, Dynamos and Data-driven Models
  • Computational Solar Physics - MHD Simulations
  • Radiative Transfer, Models of Solar Atmosphere and Heating
  • Long-term Variations in Solar Activity and Synoptic Observations


In addition there will be dedicated sessions on the Aditya-L1 mission – its instruments and science.

Sessions under the above broad topics will feature invited reviews, solicited and contributed talks. There will also be posters, digitally displayed on the conference website, with dedicated sessions for short presentations on the posters. We welcome participation from the international community, and contributions in the above areas for talks and posters.

Invited Speakers (Science)

Monica Bobra (Stanford, USA)
Gianna Cauzzi (NSO, USA)
Sarah Gibson (HAO Boulder, USA)
Nat Gopalswamy (NASA/GSFC, USA)
Elena Khomenko (IAC, Spain)
Dibyendu Nandi (IISER Kolkata)
Matthias Rempel (HAO Boulder, USA)
Hannah Schunker (NewCastle, Australia)
Oskar Steiner (Leibniz Institute, Freiburg, DE)
Hui Tian (PKU, China)
Ilya Usoskin (Uni. Oulu, Finland)
Michael Wheatland (Uni. Sydney, Australia)
Mats Carlsson (Uni. of Oslo, Norway)
Paul Charbonneau (Uni. Montreal, Canada)
Laurent Gizon (MPS Göttingen, Germany)
David Jess (QUB, UK)
Haosheng Lin (IfA Hawaii, USA)
Alexei Pevtsov (NSO, USA)
Luis Bellot Rubio (IAA Granada, Spain)
Sami Solanki (MPS Göttingen, Germany)
Alphonse Sterling (NASA/MSFC, USA)
Regner Trampedach (SSI, Boulder, USA)
Kyoko Watanabe (NDA, Japan)
Peter Young (NASA/GSFC, USA)

Invited Speakers (Facilities/Instruments)

Thomas Berkefeld (Leibniz Institute, DE)
Shibu Mathew (USO/PRL, Udaipur)
B. Ravindra (IIA, Bangalore)
Nigar Shaji (ISRO, Bangalore)
Durgesh Tripathi (IUCAA, Pune)
Vipin Yadav (VSSC/ISRO, Trivandrum)
Dibyendu Chakrabarty (PRL, Ahemedabad)
B. Raghavendra Prasad (IIA, Bangalore)
K. Sankarasubramanian (URSC/ISRO, Bangalore)
Satheesh Thampi (VSSC/ISRO, Trivandrum)
Friedrich Woeger (NSO, USA)


Conference Registration is free.